PM&C lists Digital Experts Advisory Committee

By Dylan Bushell-Embling
Wednesday, 04 March, 2020

PM&C lists Digital Experts Advisory Committee

The Department of Prime Minister and Cabinet has announced the composition of the new Digital Experts Advisory Committee, which held its first meeting last month to help inform the department’s goal of digitally transforming the Australian economy.

The new committee will be responsible for advising advice to the department’s Digital Technology Taskforce, and will meet quarterly through to mid-2021.

Members include AIIA Chairman Robert Hillard, Business Council of Australia President Tim Reed and Council of Small Business Organisations Australia CEO Peter Strong.

The taskforce also includes experts representing technology areas that could be key to transforming the Australian technology.

These include blockchain (RMIT Blockchain Innovation Hub co-director Professor Jason Potts), medtech (MTPConnect Chair Sue MacLeman) and cybersecurity (ASPI Director of Defence, Strategy and National Security Michael Shoebridge).

The committee also includes representatives from industry association Digital Industry Group Inc (Managing Director Sunita Bose) and technology companies Siemens (CEO Jeff Connolly), Platfarm (co-founder Oli Madgett), Appen (Chairman Chris Vonwiller) and CBA (Non-Executive Director Wendy Stops).

The remaining members are Chartered Accountants Australia and New Zealand Non-Executive Director Cheryl Hayman, Consumer Policy Research Centre CEO Lauren Solomon and Andrew Stevens, Chairman of the Data Standards Body for the Consumer Data Right implementation and Chairman of Innovation and Science Australia.

The Digital Technology Taskforce was established in November to explore ways the Australian Government can boost productivity through the uptake of digital technology, and meet its goal of ensuring Australia is a leading digital economy by 2030.

Image credit: ©

Related News

Cyber attacks on banks grew 118% in past 12 months

VMware's annual Modern Bank Heists report estimates that 54% of financial institutions...

Mosman Council enhancing vPermit parking system

Mosman Council will enhance its vPermit virtual parking permit system by introducing integration...

Saudi Arabia releases full 6 GHz to unlicensed use

Saudi Arabia's CITC has designated all 1200 MHz of the 6 GHz band for unlicensed, paving the...

  • All content Copyright © 2021 Westwick-Farrow Pty Ltd