APT member nations hold ICT Ministerial Meeting

By Dylan Bushell-Embling
Tuesday, 25 June, 2019

APT member nations hold ICT Ministerial Meeting

A delegation from the Department of Communications and the Arts is in Singapore this week to attend the Asia-Pacific ICT Ministerial Meeting 2019.

The meeting is being held to celebrate the 40th anniversary of the Asia-Pacific Telecommunity (APT), an alliance of governments, telecommunications service providers, equipment vendors and R&D organisations.

A Senior Officials Meeting for the event was held Monday to finalise the agenda and program for the Ministerial Meeting, which is being held Tuesday and Wednesday at Singapore’s Marina Bay Sands Expo and Convention Centre.

Attendees at the meeting are expected to consider and adopt a new Ministerial Statement which will act as the five-year vision for the development of telecommunications and IT in the Asia–Pacific region.

The meeting will also provide high-level policy guidelines for the region, and provide a platform for ministers to discuss the pressing issues within the sector, both among themselves and with industry experts and leaders.

The APT has 38 member countries as well as four associate members consisting of every major nation in the Asia–Pacific region, as well as hundreds of affiliate members from the private sector, academia and industry organisations.

Image credit: ©stock.adobe.com/au/metamorworks

Please follow us and share on Twitter and Facebook. You can also subscribe for FREE to our weekly newsletter and quarterly magazine.

Related News

Local ICT companies to upgrade City of Darwin's tech

The City of Darwin has awarded more than $1 million to three local ICT businesses for new...

Vic agencies using analytics to fight corruption

Victorian government agencies are incorporating data analytics and other technologies into their...

Newcastle becomes latest city to provide free public Wi-Fi

Newcastle has launched a free public Wi-Fi network in a bid to increase connectivity and...

  • All content Copyright © 2019 Westwick-Farrow Pty Ltd